Destination: San Francisco

My alarm clock is set for 3:00 but I finally roll out of bed at 3:55 leaving myself less than 10 minutes to get showered and on a shuttle. I think this ritual of running late for my flight because I party too hard the night before is becoming my M.O.

NOTE: There is a $3/Q20 security fee to leave Guatemala that is NOT included in the cost of your ticket! My coffee money became my get out of Guate money.

It’s a long flight day. I try to avoid conversations and rest but on my second flight I meet Chris of CandJCostaRica.com and Dr. Grosser who represents global efforts to educate youth in developing countries.

Dr. Grosser
Dressed in slacks held up by suspenders, a button down shirt and jacket in tow, Dr. Grosser tells me that he’s on his way back from Haiti and will be presenting at a fundraiser in LA shortly after we land. He’s an older man with presence, a bad hip and colorful cane. I share that a friend recently started a youth focused organization in Haiti and he shares resources for available funds.

Chris
Despite stating that he used to be short-haired and tidy, Chris sports a long shaggy mane, shorts, long-sleeved Henley and tennis shoes. He orders a Jack neat and takes a sip. The flight attendant asks for a credit card but Chris only has cash. When they tell him that they don’t accept cash he yells… You don’t accept American dollars on an American flight (yes… we’re also flying on American). I don’t understand why you won’t take my money!

He’s allowed to have his drink on the house but he’s absolutely dumbfounded as to what logical reason they have for not accepting cash. (The flight attendant is so nice and empathetic that he gives him a second free drink. Try to imagine our conversation as very animated after this.)

Chris moved to Costa Rica 5 years ago and bought a couple of cabanas, then a grocery store, then a bakery then a little book swap and before you know it… Poof! He created his own little neighborhood on a quiet stretch of beach. He is passionate about music, art and literature and is not afraid to pursue anything.

He has several ideas about what he wants to do next and despite admitting that some of his investments are a lot of hard work; he is in a constant state of fine-tuning and evolving believing wholeheartedly in making things happen.

A special note: Chris is willing to discount rates at his property if you help work in one of his stores or share your talent with him. He’s not really tech savvy but he will check his email. Reach out to negotiate.

Leave a comment